Stealing the property of another party is illegal and offenders can face criminal charges as a result of their actions. However, these charges can vary depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime. This is because there are differences between crimes such as theft and robbery. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced Bergen County, New Jersey theft lawyer for assistance if you’ve been charged with a crime.
What is Theft?
New Jersey defines theft of movable property as unlawfully taking or exercising unlawful control of another’s movable property with the intent to deprive the owner. Theft of immovable property is the unlawful transfer of any interest in another’s immovable property in order to benefit themselves or another person who isn’t entitled to the property. The classifications of these crimes and their consequences are as follows:
- Disorderly Persons Offense: When the property stolen is valued at less than $200. This is a disorderly persons offense and can result in up to 6 months in jail and fines.
- Fourth-Degree Theft: When the stolen property is valued between $200 and $500. This can result in up to 18 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
- Third-Degree Theft: When the stolen property is valued between $500 and $75,000 or it is a firearm, motor vehicle, boat, horse, airplane, or domestic companion animal. This can result in 3-5 years in prison and/or a fine up to $15,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
- Second-Degree Theft: When the stolen property is valued at $75,000 or more; theft by extortion; or, theft of 1 kilogram or more of a controlled substance. This can result in 5 to 10 years in prison and/or a fine up to $150,000, or double the amount of the victim’s loss.
What is Robbery?
Robbery is defined as theft that involves violence, force, or threat of force in New Jersey. There are different degrees of robbery. Generally, most offenses are considered second-degree offenses. While this is true, it can be upgraded to the first degree. This may be if the offender attempts to kill another person, inflicts bodily injury, commits or threatens to commit a crime, or is armed with, uses, or threatens the use of a weapon. The classifications of robbery charges and their consequences include:
- Robbery in the Second Degree: 5 to 10 years in prison as well as a $150,000 fine.
- Robbery in the First Degree: 10 to 20 years in jail.
If you’ve been charged with theft or robbery, contact the Law Office of E. Gregory M. Cannarozzi today for help.