How Long Will I Go to Jail For a Second DUI in New Jersey?


Driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) are essentially interchangeable terms in New Jersey legislation. They both indicate the crime of operating a motor vehicle after taking part in the consumption of drugs and/or alcohol. DUI convictions remain on your record for the rest of your life. If you get charged with a DUI it is always in your best interest to work with an experienced Bergen County, New Jersey DUI lawyer. Every DUI charge is taken seriously, but a first-time offender is going to have a far less aggressive punishment. On the low end, first-time offenders may receive 12 hours of jail time, $250 in fines, and a short license suspension. A second DUI will result in much more serious charges. You will find that the specifics of your circumstances greatly affect the outcome of your charges, including your fines, jail time, and community service.

What Are the Penalties for a Second DUI in New Jersey?

A plethora of penalties come along with a second DUI charge in New Jersey. As is the case with most penalties in any type of litigation, the exact sentencing will be determined on a unique case-by-case basis. However, there are standard penalties that you can familiarize yourself with in preparation for your case. According to New Jersey state law, penalties for a second DUI may include:

  • Payment of fines ranging from $500 to $1,000
  • Detainment at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
  • Suspended license for 1-2 years
  • Required IID (ignition interlock device) for 2 or more years
  • Completion of community service hours totaling 180 hours or more
  • Completion of Intoxicated Driver Program
  • Jail time ranging from 48 hours to 90 days

How Long Will My Sentence Be?

As per New Jersey state law, a second-time DUI offender will serve a minimum of 48 hours of jail time, potentially serving up to 90 days. These numbers are standard generalizations, and your situation may result in looser or more stringent punishment. The length of sentences can be impacted by a variety of components.

Reasons the severity of your sentence may be harsher can include your BAC (blood alcohol content) level being .15% or higher, if you refused to endure chemical testing, if you are a minor, if you were driving at excessive speed, if there was a minor or another passenger in the vehicle, or if your intoxicated driving resulted in an accident, injury, or death. An experienced lawyer will be able to help you evaluate the facts, assess the strength of your case, and come up with the best defense possible for your situation.

Contact Us Today
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.