Distracted driving is the leading cause of car accidents in the United States, and the number one type of driver distraction is texting while driving. With today’s technology, it’s unfortunately not uncommon for drivers to use cell phones and other mobile devices while on the road. Studies show that in New Jersey alone, 22% of all car collisions are caused by cell phone usage. It’s no surprise that there are strict laws in place to prevent people from texting and driving. Many New Jersey drivers wonder what could happen if they’re caught in the act. No need to worry because our knowledgeable law firm has all the answers you’ll need! To learn more, keep reading this blog or reach out to a Bergen County, New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyer today for individualized legal counseling.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I’M CAUGHT TEXTING AND DRIVING?
Using a handheld electronic device is a primary offense in New Jersey. If a police driver sees you using a phone or other mobile electronic device while driving, you will most likely be pulled over. If this happens, don’t panic, and definitely don’t admit guilt. The good news is that you may be able to reduce or dismiss the offense since it can be difficult to prove that you were actually texting while driving. However, it’s important to note that New Jersey’s texting and driving laws don’t only include text messaging while on the road. You can face similar penalties if you’re caught talking on the phone while driving or otherwise using any other electronic device.
WHAT PENALTIES WILL I FACE?
Because of the large number of car accidents in our state per year, New Jersey takes unsafe driving seriously. So, you are likely to face pretty hefty fines if a police officer catches you texting and driving. For a first offense, you’ll be fined at least $200, and the fines only increase for repeat offenders. After a third device usage while driving offense, you could be fined up to $800, and your license will be suspended for up to 90 days. Our state doesn’t offer conditional licenses, so a license suspension can be adverse if you need transportation for your daily obligations. Contact a lawyer after receiving this traffic offense.
Have you recently been penalized for texting and driving in New Jersey? You might want to speak with a traffic violation attorney who can help you to determine your best options moving forward. Thankfully, the Law Office of Gregory Cannarozzi is on your side! Contact our highly experienced team today for an initial consultation.