What Are the Penalties for Drug Manufacturing in New Jersey?

person in handcuffs with baggie of drugs

Drug manufacturing is a serious crime and the associated penalties prove that fact. If you are facing drug manufacturing charges you could be pinned with extensive fines and a lengthy jail sentence. Speak with a Bergen County, New Jersey drug crime lawyer today to discuss your options for your case.

What Drugs Are Considered CDS?

Certain drugs are labeled CDS (controlled dangerous substances) if they have a high risk for abuse or addiction. When drugs are classified as controlled substances it is illegal for them to be sold or distributed unless it is by an authorized lawful provider, like a doctor or pharmacist.

CDSs are divided into five schedules, Schedule I, II, III, IV, and V. Schedule I drugs pose the most risk and do not have any accepted medical use in the United States. These can include LSD, heroin, or ecstasy. Schedule II and below are of less danger and can be prescribed for certain conditions or diseases, such as fentanyl, methamphetamine, Dilaudid, and oxycodone.

Any of the above drugs are protected under drug laws in New Jersey. Manufacturing, producing, or distributing them without legal authority to do so is considered a crime and can be prosecuted.

How Does NJ Law Define Drug Manufacturing?

It is no secret that an unlicensed person or group manufacturing illicit drugs is a crime. But how does New Jersey state law define drug manufacturing? In NJ, it is illegal to unlawfully manufacture, distribute, sell, or dispense medication and controlled dangerous substances. Manufacturing drugs means producing, preparing, propagating, or processing. It is also illegal to knowingly and purposefully operate and/or maintain a controlled dangerous substance production facility.

The creation of drugs when you are not licensed to do so will land you in hot water. All drug crimes are taken seriously in New Jersey, and manufacturing drugs can result in serious penalties and charges.

What Are the Consequences?

Penalties can be severe for any drug charge in New Jersey, including manufacturing drugs. Under the NERA (No Early Release Act) in New Jersey, anyone convicted of certain crimes must serve at least 85% of their sentence before they are eligible for parole. Certain drug offenses like manufacturing and trafficking are included under this act.

The extent of your charges will depend on the specific circumstances of your case. It will vary depending on the amount of drugs involved, your criminal record, and other aggravating factors. The following are the standard penalties for each degree of drug manufacturing offense.

Third-degree offense: Fines of $25,000 and a prison sentence of 3 to 5 years.

Second-degree offense: Fines of $150,000 and a prison sentence of 5 to 10 years.

First-degree offense: Fines of $300,000 and a prison sentence of 10 to 20 years.

Contact Us Today
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.