Getting charged with a DUI can be an adverse experience for various reasons. Many people facing these charges worry about their ability to drive in the future, which could be greatly affected by your insurance rates. Have you ever wondered about what happens to your auto insurance after a DUI conviction? Our law firm has the answers you need. To learn more, read this blog or reach out to a Bergen County, New Jersey DUI Lawyer today!
WILL A DUI CHARGE AFFECT MY AUTO INSURANCE RATES?
Yes, a DUI charge will likely have a substantial effect on your auto insurance. Some insurance companies even refuse to cover drivers who have a DUI conviction. This is because companies calculate your rates based on the risk of you getting into a future car accident, and a DUI is a bad look on your record. Most companies look at the past 3-5 years of your driving record, but some companies might look back further than this for DUI charges.
In New Jersey, you can expect your insurance rates to rise by about 82%. While the average annual cost for auto insurance for drivers with a clean record is around $1,500, the average annual cost is around $2,800 for drivers with a DUI conviction.
WHAT OTHER PENALTIES CAN I FACE FOR A DUI?
This depends on the circumstances of your DUI and your criminal history. If you’re a first-time offender whose blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was less than 0.10%, you can likely face the minimum penalties. These drivers can expect to face fines, required use of an ignition interlock device (IID) for three months, participation in an alcohol education center, and possibly 30 days of incarceration. First-time offenders with a higher BAC might get heavier fines and up to a year with an IID.
If you get a second DUI, you could be penalized with a license suspension for up to two years, between one to three years with an IID, 30 days of community service, and possibly up to 90 days of incarceration. Once you’ve committed a third DUI offense, you’re considered a repeat offender and risk facing the maximum punishment. Repeat offenders lose their license for 10 years, they’ll be sentenced to at least 180 days of jail time, and they could receive upwards of $4,000 in fines. These penalties are serious, which is why it’s important to speak with a DUI lawyer immediately after being charged so they can help you reduce or dismiss your charges.
Have you recently been charged with a DUI? Are you seeking an effective criminal defense attorney who has your best interests in mind? Look no further because the Law Office of E. Gregory M. Cannarozzi is here to fight for you! Contact our highly experienced team today for individualized legal counseling.