Traffic Violations

Leaving the Scene of an Accident

New Jersey state law requires drivers involved in an vehicle accident where bodily injury or property damage occurs to stop immediately at the scene of the accident (or as close to the scene as possible without obstructing the flow of traffic) to wait for the arrival of law enforcement officers. In the State of New Jersey, if a driver leaves the scene of an accident where property damage occurs, s/he is subject to a $200 to $400 fine, 30 days imprisonment and a 6 months driver’s license suspension. If a driver leaves the scene of an accident where serious injury or death occurs, s/he are subject to a $500- $1000 fine, 180 days imprisonment and 1 year driver’s license suspension, in addition to other criminal charges that may be filed against them.

Posted under Traffic Violations
Tagged as